Materials Meet Robots 2024


Apr 21: The time schedule is published.
Apr 9: The committee is updated.
Apr 2: The registration form is open.
Mar 30: The website is open.

About Symposium

In May 2024, an international symposium, Materials Meet Robots 2024, will be organized by the Society for Neuromorphic AI Hardware. The aim of the symposium is to provide an opportunity for discussion with researchers of material science and robotics and to make new ideas for research collaborations.


May 7th (Tuesday) – 8th (Wednesday): Symposium
May 9th (Thursday): Excursion (only for invited speakers)


Venue: Conference Center of Kitakyushu Science and Research Park
Address: 2-3 Hibikino, Wakamatsu, Kitakyushu, 808-0135, Japan


Keynote speech

May 7th, 13:30-14:15 JST (UTC+9)
Prof. Wilfred G. van der Wiel (University of Twente)
“Material Intelligence”

May 7th, 15:55-16:40 JST (UTC+9)
Prof. Konrad Szaciłowski (AGH University of Science and Technology in Kraków)
“Computing in the times of Apocalypse: A new face of old compounds for unconventional memristive devices”

May 8th, 16:00-16:45 JST (UTC+9)
Prof. Zdenka Kuncic (University of Sydney)
“Mimicking the physical brain with self-assembled memristive networks: Towards adaptive online machine learning for robotics”

Invited talk

May 8th, 14:50-15:20 JST (UTC+9)
Prof. Takuya Matsumoto (Osaka University)
“Molecular Systems for Neuromorphic Computations”

Oral session (20 min per person)

Oral session 1: May 7th, 14:15-15:35 JST (UTC+9)
Mr. Thien Tan Dang (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
“Examining the Ability to Retrieve Historical Data Attributes in an Ag/Ag2S Nanoparticle Network Reservoir Computing”

Mr. Arie Rachmad Syulistyo (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
“American Sign Language Recognition by Reservoir Computing with a Combination of Multiple Reservoirs and Self-Organizing Multiple Readouts”

Dr. John Rex Mohan (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
“Information Processing Capacity of Coupled Spin Hall Oscillators”

Mr. Yusuke Miyajima (Waseda University)
“Proposed computational models of Amoeba-inspired combinatorial optimization machines towards the physical implementation”

Oral session 2: May 8th, 10:40-11:40 JST (UTC+9)
Mr. Ahmet Karacali (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
“Mel-Frequency Cepstral Coefficients Feature Extracted Voice Recognition Task Using Atomic Switch Ag/Ag2S Device-Based Time-Delayed Reservoir Computing”

Ms. Yuka Shishido (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
“CMOS digital-analog mixed signal VLSI implementation of a hippocampus-inspired model”

Mr. Aoto Sasaki (Osaka University)
“Attempt at character recognition based on the properties of a {Mo_(154/152)}-ring”

Oral session 3: May 8th, 15:20-15:40 JST (UTC+9)
Dr. Yuya Ishizaki (Rikkyo University)
“Nonlinear Electronic Characteristics of Conjugated Polymer Monolayer Networks”

Poster discussion: May 8th, 13:00-14:30 JST (UTC+9)
Robot Demonstration: May 8th, 9:30-10:30 JST (UTC+9)


Registration is required to participate in the symposium. If you would like to cancel the registration, please contact the secretariat (neumorph-center[at]

Registration fee: 0 JPY
Deadline for registration: April 24th, 2024

We also invite poster presentations of research contributions relating to neuromorphic AI hardware (you can reuse posters presented at the 5th International Symposium on Neuromorphic AI Hardware if you want). Participants willing to present may check “willing to present in the poster session” and enter the presentation title in the following registration form. Abstract submission is not required.

Topics are as follows:
– Material Engineering
– Electric Circuit System
– Computational Model
– Robotics
– Others related to neuromorphic AI hardware

Presentation Instruction

Please present in English. The presentation time will be notified later.

Oral presentation
Please prepare a computer compatible with HDMI output.

Poster presentation
Please prepare a poster of A0 size (vertical orientation). Posters will be pinned by thumbtacks (the committee will prepare).


The Society for Neuromorphic AI Hardware

Hirofumi Tanaka (Kyushu Institute of Technology)

Vice Chair
Hakaru Tamukoh (Kyushu Institute of Technology)

Yuki Usami (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
Yuichiro Tanaka (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
Aki Fujita (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
Mamiko Yonehara (Kyushu Institute of Technology)